Over the rainbow

on

image

As a 3 year old sleeps between me and the man I love (these days  :-)) I wonder if this is what life has become for me… If this is what all the relationships that never really worked built me up for… The life where 3 little boys sleep on “mom & dads” bedroom floor and sees who falls asleep first. The life where one of our 3 girls ask almost every night can they sleep with us.

As I lay here at 6am in mama bear heaven with birds chirping outside my window, boys snoring on my bedroom floor, a 3 year old knee in my side and my love stretched to hold us both; I realize this is far better than I had ever imagined… this is something I didn’t even know to imagine, but I wish I did.
This is our family and though it is unique and dynamic in it’s structure it still posseses everything a traditional family has: a father, a mother, brothers, sisters, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, love, fights, tears, happiness, memories, fun… Just no dog… Or, cat  🙂 and I am beyond glad that we did this because I wouldn’t want it any other way…

I need to pay the man upstairs some gratuity because I am more than grateful for this life… Dorothy said somewhere over the rainbow, there’s a land that I heard of once in a lullaby… I never heard this lullaby but I love the tune of it…

image

Leave a Reply

