Play with word count they say…

Everyday Inspiration: Day 13 – Play with word count (aiming for a 250-word count minus this intro)

I had an appointment for the intake process for family counseling. I feel like we might be veering off course and I want to make sure we stay on the same page. I don’t want my kids afraid to talk to me and I want them to be able to express themselves in a safe space. I’m working at breaking generational cycles, I previously found myself repeating.
It’s funny to me how it quickly became an assessment of me. All these “doctors” start with the same questions: What brought you here today? How was your childhood? Have you ever been under psychiatric care before? Eventually they start flipping thru a book trying to narrow down what my symptoms can possibly equate to. When they start asking questions like “Do you have outbursts?” “Are they more anger or sadness?” I just tell them, “I have bipolar disorder I last time I was evaluated. No, I am not on meds and no I do not want to be on meds.” This doctor did me the pleasure of telling me that she thinks I’ve scaled back to Bipolar disorder II. Whoop-de-doo is what I want to tell her, but I don’t.
She then starts asking, how do you deal with your episodes now? Now is when I usually debate with telling her the amount of weed I smoke daily. Do I tell her that I have a good and bad angel, I constantly debate with internally until we all agree on a rational decision?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I think weed helps stabilize my mood. I think it’s a good thing for bipolar. Did you tell her? I think I would have not said anything.

    1. Cam says:

      I told her everything it has helped with. I’m always honest with them

      1. You’re a very good patient 🙂

      2. Cam says:

        I feel like if I’m not 100% truthful there’s no point in even being there. Gotta start somewhere… Once you’re honest with yourself, it’s a lot easier to be honest to other ppl.

  2. Michael Smith says:

    Thanks for sharing. Seems like mental illness is rampant in our family. You are not alone.

    1. Cam says:

      Now that I wasn’t aware of. I knew it was heavy in my mom’s side of the family though. Thanks for letting me know, I love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

